Steven S. Goldberg Nominations

Steven S. Goldberg Nominations

Distinguished Scholarship in Education Law

Awarded at the ELA Annual Conference

Deadline for 2022 nominations: August 1, 2022


To recognize an outstanding article, book, book chapter, or other form of scholarly legal writing in the field of education law. The award is named after the late Steven S. Goldberg, an ELA member and a professor of education and the Coordinator of the Educational Leadership Program at Arcadia University whose gift funded the award.


The work must have been published withing the past two calendar years prior to the deadline for nominations. It must have been written by an individual author, who need not be an ELA member.


The work must be of scholarly excellence and have an impact on education law.


Any ELA member may nominate a piece of legal scholarship. In addition, the Goldberg Award Subcommittee of ELA's Awards Committee may, at its discretion, review written works and select an outstanding piece that has not been formally nominated. Self-nominations will not be accepted. The nominating ELA member should submit 1) a letter of nomination stating the justification for the nomination, and 2) a copy of the nominated work.

Please submit the nomination by email to ELA's Awards Committee, at . Please include the name of the award in the subject line of the email message.


The Goldberg Award Subcommittee reviews and evaluates nominated and other eligible works and selects the award recipient, if one is granted for the year.  While the subcommittee will make every attempt to select a meritorious brief each year, the award will only be given if the committee finds an exemplary piece of scholarship.


The award recipient will receive:

  • A presentation of an award plaque during the ELA Annual Conference;
  • Complimentary Annual Conference registration for the year of award; and
  • One year's complimentary ELA membership.

Additionally, the winner will be invited to present on the topic of the recognized work at the ELA Annual Conference.