M.A. McGhehey Nominations

M.A. McGhehey Nominations

Distinguished Service

Awarded at the ELA Annual Conference

Deadline for 2022 nominations: August 1, 2022


To recognize outstanding service in the field of education law and to the Education Law Association. The award is named after Marion A. McGhehy, who served as president, in 1961, and then as executive director, from 1962 to 1982, of ELA in its original incarnation as the National Organization on Legal Problems in Education (NOLPE), and who also led both the Indiana School Boards Association and the Kansas Association of School Boards.


ELA members, living or deceased.


The individual receiving the award must have a long history of service to the Education Law Association, and the individual’s work must have had an impact nationally in the field of law and education.


Any ELA member may nominate a recipient by submitting 1) a nomination letter that addresses the McGhehey Award criteria in some detail, and 2) the nominee's current C.V. with education law contributions highlighted. The discussion of contributions to the field should include specific publications, presentations, and other accomplishments. The discussion of service to ELA should identify specific committees and leadership roles. Additional letters of support may be provided. Members of the ELA Awards Committee also can make nominations.

Please submit the nomination by email to ELA's Awards Committee, at . Please include the name of the award in the subject line of the email message.


The McGhehy Award Subcommittee of ELA's Awards Committee reviews and evaluates submissions McGhehy Award and selects the award recipient, if one is granted for the year.


The award recipient will be presented with an award plaque during the ELA Annual Conference.