Improve your Legal Literacy 

The Education Law Association (ELA) is a national, nonprofit member association offering unbiased information to its professional members about current legal issues affecting education and the rights of those involved in education in both public and private K-12 schools, universities, and colleges.

Together, our professional community anticipates trends in education law and supports scholarly research through the highest value print and electronic publications, conferences, seminars, and other professional forums.

Our members include practicing attorneys; education law professors; education faculty; school board members; public/private school administrators and teachers; staff members of state and federal education agencies and professional associations; law librarians; and students.

For education professionals and legal advocates on behalf of educational institutions, ELA remains an indispensable resource.

The Education Law Association is not engaged in rendering legal or other professional advice and assumes no responsibility for the statements and opinions by any of its contributing authors or editors. If you have any questions about the application of issues raised herein to your present situation, seek the advice of a competent attorney or professional.

Our Roots

foundersFounded in 1954 during an education conference at Duke University, the National Organization on Legal Problems in Education was founded with 57 members from 15 states and the District of Columbia. While Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka was being considered by the SUpreme Court of the United States, education professionals saw a need to find a way to take complex legal issues in a fast-changing world of education and share them with those education professionals who need the information to effectively run their schools.  Within six weeks of its inception, NOLPE had 205 members from 40 states, the District of Columbia and Guam.

The first annual meeting was held in the fall of 1955 at the University of Chicago and the first full-sized book was published in 1958, titled Law and the School Superintendent. By 1963, nearly one-third of the membership were attorneys.



You are here: Home About History