ELA In The News

Here's what ELA members are accomplishing in the field of education law. If you are an ELA member and would like to include your recent education-law-related news on this page, please log in to our members section and fill out our submission form. 

Congratulations to Past President Bill Thro, whose book review,The Future of Racial Preferences:  A Review of Russell K. Nieli’s Wounds That Will Not Heal: Affirmative Action and Our Continuing Racial Divide & Randall Kennedy’s For Discrimination: Race, Affirmative Action, and the Law was just published in the Journal of College & University Law.

ELA's Past President Philip T.K. Daniel has been awarded The Ohio State University's 2014 President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service. Daniel is the William Ray and Marie Adamson Flesher Professor of Educational Administration in the College of Education and Human Ecology and adjunct professor of law.

Quoted in a June 19, 2014, Wall Street Journal news story ("Family of Illinois Boy Sues Over Bullying," by Andrea Gallo and Joe Palazzolo) were ELA members Rick Miller, Jr. and Allan G. Osborne, Jr. The WSJ reporter contacted the ELA office and was directed to sources for the quotes. Miller, a Baltimore-based consultant who trains school districts in bullying prevention, is a highly rated presenter at ELA conferences and currently is co-writing a monograph on the subject. Osborne, a former principal living in Massachusetts, is a past president of ELA who remains a very busy editor and author of education law publications. Both will be presenters at this year's 60th ELA Annual Conference in San Diego. 

Dr. Neyland Clark, retiring Superintendent of the South Harrison Community Schools in Corydon, Indiana received UCEA's Excellence in Education Award. The award provides recognition to practicing school administrators who have made significant contributions to the improvement of administrator preparation. Indiana University School Administrators Association, which recognized Clark as Superintendent of the Year for District 8, presented him the award during their annual reception and awards ceremony June 12, 2014. 

John Dayton and a host of other ELA Members and leading education law scholars have completed the inaugural issue of the Education Law & Policy Review (ELPR), a peer-reviewed law and policy journal providing scholarly reviews and commentary on national and international issues in law and policy in K-12 and Higher Education.  ELA members have exclusive first access to the ELPR for 30 days through the ELA website, and thereafter the ELPR will be available in print through the Education Law Consortium and free online at www.educationlawconsortium.org

 Eric Mondschein recently wrote a book on his "Life at 12 College Road," published by Something to Other Publishing LLC. It is now available on Amazon.com. Executive Director Smith got a peek at the proof copy while at the annual conference and it looks as entertaining as everything else he does. (posted 11/20/13).

 The Indiana University School of Education and the Indiana University School Administrators Association announced during the June 20th session of the 46th Education Leadership Summer Conference that the annual event is being renamed for Chancellor's Professor Emeritus Martha McCarthy. Starting next summer, the conference will be known as the Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute. (posted 10/14/2013).

 Diana Pullin, Ph.D., J.D., published  Legal Issues in the Use of Student Test Scores and Value-added Models (VAM) to Determine Educational Quality. Education Policy Analysis  Archives, North America, 21, Jan. 2013. Available at: <  http://epaa.asu.edu/ojs/article/view/1160>. (posted 9/26/2013)

 Luke J. Stedrak is now an assistant Professor at Seton Hall University in the Education Leadership, Management and Policy department. (posted 9/24/2013)

Stephanie Klupinski, formerly VP of Legal and Legislative Affairs of the Ohio Alliance for Public Charter Schools has moved to Hawaii to become the Organizational Performance Manager for the Hawaii State Public Charter School Commission, where Tom Hutton is the Executive Director. (posted 9/24/2013)

ELA President Bill Thro authored Undermining Christian Legal Society v. Martinez which will be published in an upcoming Education Law Reporter and may be found here for download. (posted 9/23/2013)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law held a welcome reception for ELA on Wednesday, August 28, 2013 which was attended by faculty, staff, several members of the board of directors, local atorneys and administrators, and the Mayor of Cleveland, Frank Jackson. Mayor Jackson presented ELA with a welcoming proclamation - see photo below. (posted 8/31/2013)

ELA Past-President Susan G. Clark has been named the Interim Dean of the University of Akron College of Education (posted 7/16/13)

ELA Past-President and Senior Counsel of Bracewell & Giuliani LLP, Kelly Frels, was recognized by the School Law Section of the State Bar of Texas by naming him the Inaugural Recipient of the Kelly Frels Lifetime Achievement Award. The award marks the first time that the School Law Section has given a lifetime achievement award, and all lifetime achievement awards given by the section going forward will carry Frels’ name. Frels and four others created the School Law Section in 1971, and the Section now has over 600 members. (posted 4/17/13)

ELA Immediate Past President, Susan G. Clark was selected among the Top 22 Education Professors in Ohio by Online Schools in Ohio. (posted 2/5/13)

ELA Member Robert J. Safransky published review of "Student First Amendment Speech and Expression Rights: Armbands to Bong Hits" by R. Chace Ramey in The Law and Politics Book Review, vol. 22,no. 12 (December, 2012), pp. 549-554. (posted 1/31/13)






You are here: Home About ELA ELA In The News